After a few years away from blogging, I’ve decided to get back in the game, and since it’s a new year it made sense to jot down some thoughts on which movies I’m looking forward to the most in 2017.

5. Kingsman: The Golden Circle (October 6, 2017)

The first Kingsman was a one of the biggest surprises 0f 2014, and I appreciated how it was able to out-Bond Bond with its throwback style and attitude. Of course, I wasn’t shocked when a sequel was announced, but I was a little surprised by how much I’m looking forward to the second outing.

4. Spider-Man: Homecoming (July 7, 2017)

I’m going to be honest; I think I’m getting a little superheroed out thanks to a jam-packed but hit-or-miss 2016, which is why you will not see Guardians 2 or Thor 3 on this list. That said, I have to admit that I’m excited to see Spider-Man’s integration into the MCU. While I won’t say that he was the standout of Civil War, I will give him some credit for being a welcomed addition, and I can’t wait to see how Marvel and Sony handle this third attempt.

3. John Wick: Chapter 2 (February 10, 2017)

Much like Kingsman, I was not expecting to like the first John Wick as much as I did. Similarly, it felt like a flick from the 90’s when stylized violence was in. Thankfully, it wasn’t just about the gunplay because it was grounded with a decent story and characters. Let’s hope the sequel can recapture the charm.

2. Wonder Woman (June 2, 2017)

I know that I just talked about how I’ve hit my superhero limit, but Wonder Woman will be an exception. The fact that it’s taken so long for the Amazonian to get her due on the big screen is criminal especially when you think of of many Supermen and Batmen we’ve had, so of course I’m giddy to see her first solo film. That said, I fully admit that a lot rides on her shoulders and I hope she can deliver.

1. Star Wars: Episode VIII (December 15, 2017)

I really liked The Force Awakens, and I kinda liked Rogue One, so of course I cannot wait to see Episode VIII. The fact that Episode VII relied so much on the original film didn’t bother me because I totally understood what J.J. Abrams was going for, but I’m anxious to see where Episode VIII and Rian Johnson takes the story. You can get away with ripping-off A New Hope, but this better not end up being The First Order Fights Again.

Honorable Mentions: Baywatch, Creed 2, and Coco.

So there you have it, my top five most anticipated movies of 2017. Which movies are you looking forward to seeing? Let me know if the comments.

